The Five Senses and Art

As an artist, I creatively define the world I experience through the windows of my five senses. The world, in a way, is five dimensional: composed of the five dimensions of sense – sights, sounds, smells, textures, and flavors both familiar and new.

Most of us perceive the world we live in through a multitude of sense perceptions. We see the lights of the city, smell the traffic, hear the horns and engines of passing traffic. When we engage in holiday dinners, we are enveloped by the tastes, textures, and smells of the foods we enjoy and often the good conversations we hear and share.

Creativity uses my five senses and makes my portrait become inbued with my feelings, thoughts, and impressions, allowing me to feel more animated. Painting smoke and hot fire, as I experienced them through my physical senses, onto the canvas on my easel, recreates my memories of the smell of the flame and the feel of heat radiating from it. Shadows elsewhere in the my picture bring forth remembrances of the fire’s brightness and motion.

Facial expressions and body language in art can remind viewers of sounds, smells, tastes, personal emotions, and other vivacious elements. This kind of effort to capture of life was what made Norman Rockwell’s artwork popular with such a wide audience and capable of conveying multiple experiences on one canvas.

Charity Goodwin, Artist

Leave a Reply

